View count: 25793


Our University was formerly known as Taihoku Higher School in 1922. It was renamed Taiwan Provincial Teachers College in June 1946. The Department of Education was established in the same year, while a psychology lab was set up in the department. In 1958, the Department of Education established the Psychology Division and expanded the Psychology Laboratory into a Psychology Laboratory Center. The Department of Educational Psychology was officially founded in 1968. Further in 1980, the Department of Educational Psychology was established in the Department of Adult & Continuing Education and separated into a Counseling division and a Special Education division to provide further education opportunities for elementary and secondary school teachers. In 1979, given the increasing importance of counseling work in schools at all levels, the Ministry of Education approved the establishment of a Master's degree program for counseling, with the existing teacher resources and facilities in the Department of Educational Psychology as a foundation. In 1987, the establishment of a Doctoral degree program was also approved in order to train senior counselors. Also, the Department has been renamed the Department(Institute) of Educational Psychology and Counseling and abbreviated as the Department(Institute) of Psychological Counseling in the same year. In 1994, in response to the promulgation of the New University Act, the names of the department and institute were unified as the Department of Educational Psychology and Counseling (abbreviated as the Department of Psychological Counseling).

Our campus can be divided into the main campus (including the College of Education, College of Liberal Arts, College of Fine Arts, etc.) and branches (College of Science, etc.) Our department is located on the 5th and 6th floor of the College of Education building.

The faculty members of our department are very professional and own many representative publications on education, psychology, statistics, educational psychology, psychometrics, psychiatry, psychological counseling, school guidance, adolescent issues and guidance, special education, etc. In terms of specific topic studies, many of our faculty members have successfully applied for grants from the Ministry of Science and Technology or other related organizations every year. There are 25 full-time faculties, 15 professors, 4 associate professors, and 6 assistant professors. In terms of academic qualifications, there are 25 Ph.D. holders. Please refer to the faculty member profile list for each teacher’s educational background and expertise briefing.